Flashback: Landman score downs Munster


Ahead of Sunday’s BKT United Rugby Championship clash at Rodney Parade, we dive into the archives for footage of the victory over Munster in December 2015...

Captain Rynard Landman delivered the decisive blow with a late try as Dragons earned a shock 22-6 league win over Munster.

Munster's Rory Scannell and Dragons' Dorian Jones landed two penalties apiece in the opening period.

The hosts dominated the second half in which Jones added a drop-goal and penalty before Landman scored and Jones converted. Jason Tovey also added a late penalty.

Jones' early kick cancelled out Scannell's, as both sides struggled to gain any momentum amid a stream of handling errors and penalties.

Munster twice came close to tries early in the second quarter, as Simon Zebo touched down only to be penalised for a double movement, and then Lucas Amorosino lost the ball over the line.

A second Jones penalty on the half-hour mark edged the Dragons ahead before Carl Meyer was bundled into touch at the corner in the Dragons' most promising attack.

Scannell replied from 30 metres to leave the game tied at the interval as referee Gary Conway blew for an injury with the Dragons hammering at the visitors' line.

Jones fired over a drop-goal from 40 metres out to get the second-half scoring under way. But tries continued to prove elusive as Sarel Pretorius for the Dragons and then Munster's Ronan O'Mahoney failed to find support for solo breaks.

Jones found the target with a 30 metre penalty, but missed with another penalty and two more drop-goals which could have given the home side some breathing space going into the closing minutes.

The Dragons finally eased the nerves of their noisy following when South African lock Landman charged over after 78 minutes from Adam Hughes' break, Jones adding the extras. Replacement Tovey then slotted over a penalty with the final kick of the game.

Dragons: Carl Meyer; Tom Prydie, Adam Hughes, Adam Warren, Ashton Hewitt; Dorian Jones, Sarel Pretorius; Phil Price, Thomas Rhys Thomas (c), Brok Harris, Matthew Screech, Rynard Landman, Lewis Evans, Nic Cudd, Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: Rhys Buckley, Shaun Knight, Lloyd Fairbrother, Cory Hill, Ed Jackson, Charlie Davies, Jason Tovey, Ross Wardle.

Munster: Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Ronan O'Mahony, David Johnston, Denis Hurley (c), Simon Zebo; Rory Scannell, Tomas O'Leary; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm; Shane Buckley, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, James Cronin, Mario Sagario, Billy Holland, Jordan Coghlan, Cathal Sheridan, Tyler Bleyendaal, Gerhard van den Heever.

Ticketing Banners
Would you like to be part of our success? FIND OUT MORE
Headline Sponsor
Primary Partners