Dragons Make Six changes for Connacht Clash


Boss Dean Ryan has made six changes to his starting XV for Saturday’s clash with Connacht at The Sportsground, 5:15pm kick off.

The Director of Dragons Rugby has looked to freshen up his side ahead of the region’s first away trip of the season in the URC.

Greg Bateman, Joe Maksymiw, Harrison Keddie, Taine Basham, Rhodri Williams and Jordan Williams all come in to start in Galway.

The fixture also sees the return of scrum half Gonzalo Bertranou on the bench for Dragons following his Rugby Championship exploits with Argentina.

Bateman is joined in the front with Mesake Doge and hooker Elliot Dee.

Will Rowlands has a new partner in the second row with Maksymiw joining the Welsh international to face his former club.

Keddie comes in to captain the side at six and Basham gets his first start of the season, with number eight Aaron Wainwright completing the pack.

Scrum half Rhodri Williams is another to get his first start of the season and is partnered by the ever present Sam Davies at fly half.

Centre pairing Aneurin Owen and Jack Dixon continue their partnership in the middle of the park for the third straight league game.

While Welsh international Jonah Holmes joins Jordan Olowofela on the wings and fullback Jordan Williams comes in for his first appearance of the campaign.

Dragons: Jordan Williams, Jonah Holmes, Jack Dixon, Aneurin Owen, Jordan Olowofela, Sam Davies, Rhodri Williams, Greg Bateman, Elliot Dee, Mesake Doge, Will Rowlands, Joe Maksymiw, Harrison Keddie (c), Taine Basham, Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: Taylor Davies, Aki Seiuli, Chris Coleman, Joe Davies, Ollie Griffiths, Gonzalo Bertranou, Josh Lewis, Adam Warren.

Ticketing Banners
Would you like to be part of our success? FIND OUT MORE
Headline Sponsor
Primary Partners