Brok Starts for Stormers as he Returns to Rodney Parade


Dragons legend Brok Harris will return to Rodney Parade on Friday night but this time in the colours of the opposition as Dragons welcome the Stormers to Newport.

The South African spent seven years in Wales before his departure in the summer, and has since signed for his former side, DHL Stormers.

The former Dragon never had the opportunity to say his goodbyes to the Rodney Parade faithful but this Friday he gets that opportunity, with supporters now returned to stadia.

Harris made 133 appearances for the region and supporters will finally get their opportunity to show their appreciation and thank you’s to one of the greatest imports to take the field in Gwent.

The DHL Stormers end their tour against the Welsh team at Rodney Parade, in a clash that they hope to claim their first victory of the campaign.

Harris will be joined in the front row by Neethling Fouche and hooker Scarra Ntubeni, with Ernst Van Rhyn and captain Salmaan Moerat partnering in the second row.

Loose forward Junior Pokomela will make his DHL Stormers debut in the United Rugby Championship encounter and Willie Engelbrecht and number eight Evan Roos complete the pack.

The inclusion of Pokomela on the flank is the only change to the forward pack that started the 20-20 draw with Edinburgh last week.

There are five changes to the backline though, as the DHL Stormers aim to end their European tour on a high.

The fit-again halfback pairing of Stefan Ungerer and Manie Libbok take their places in the starting line-up, along with centres Dan du Plessis and Ruhan Nel and wing Leolin Zas, who all started the week before against Munster.

DHL Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said that his team will be leaving it all out there at Rodney Parade.

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Leolin Zas, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Salmaan Moerat (captain), 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Brok Harris.

Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Juan de Jongh.

Season Membership 21/22
Would you like to be part of our success? FIND OUT MORE
Headline Sponsor
Primary Partners