Awards treble for back row Wainwright


Back row ace Aaron Wainwright capped a sensational season for Dragons and Wales as he swept the board at the region’s end of season awards on Friday night.

Wainwright – who made 17 appearances for Dragons this season – impressed for region and country during 2018/19, making his first start for Wales against Tonga in the autumn and featuring in every game of the Six Nations Grand Slam.

His performances were rewarded as he picked up the Coaches Player of the Year - sponsored by Monmouthshire Building Society - ahead of fellow nominees scrum half Rhodri Williams and hooker Elliot Dee.

Wainwright’s eye-catching displays were also recognised by his peers as he was voted by his team-mates as the Ed Jackson Players’ Player of the Year. The award was presented by captain Cory Hill and Lyndon Bigmore.

The 21-year-old completed a hat-trick of awards as he was named the Supporters Player of the Year - sponsored by Worthington’s - on the night.

Ollie Griffiths, Taine Basham, Matthew Screech and Richard Hibbard were also nominated and Wainwright was presented with his award by Martin Anderson, from Coors, and Dan Hallet, DOSC Chairman.

The Young Player of the Season – sponsored by RED90 - was won by Taine Basham, who claimed the top prize ahead of wing Jared Rosser and lock Max Williams. The award was presented by General Manager, James Chapron.

The Try of the Season - sponsored by Harlequin Print - was won by Jordan Williams for his memorable score against Leinster at the RDS Arena in Dublin last September.

Jordan claimed 44% of the public vote ahead of Tyler Morgan (vs. Edinburgh), Jack Dixon (vs. Scarlets) and Jared Rosser (vs. Ospreys).

The Phil James Community Award - sponsored by Clarity Copiers - was awarded to prop Leon Brown in recognition for his work with the Dragons Community team and across the region.

Leon was chosen because of his work within the community including his presence at schools, camps, attendance at pre-match community activities, being a positive role model and for his work with Positive Futures, a sports based social inclusion program operating across the region.

The Clubman of the Year award was presented by Ceri Jones to Ryan Harris, Head of Strength & Conditioning at Dragons.

The night also saw 100 caps awarded to Brok Harris, Lloyd Fairbrother, Cory Hill, Jack Dixon and Hallam Amos after they hit the milestone during the 2018/19 season. Executive Chairman David Buttress presented the caps.

Finally, a special milestone awarded was given to the departing Jason Tovey after he became the first player this season to score 1,000 points for the region.

Pro14 Tickets Now on Sale
Would you like to be part of our success? FIND OUT MORE
Headline Sponsor
Main Sponsors